COTA Board of Trustees – COTA

COTA Board of Trustees

COTA’s Board of Trustees

COTA’s Board of Trustees is the governing body of COTA and is responsible for overseeing COTA as established by the Ohio Revised Code 306.30 to 306.50.

In exercising its fiduciary responsibilities, board members have three primary obligations:

  • Duty of Care—Board members shall perform their duties with the care that an ordinary prudent person in a like position would use under similar circumstances.
  • Duty of Good Faith—Board members shall take the necessary actions to be informed and exercise appropriate judgment.
  • Duty of Loyalty—Board members shall perform their duties in a manner the Board Member reasonably believes to be in, or not opposed to, the best interest of COTA.

Additionally, board members should:

  • Provide a clear vision for COTA’s future.
  • Provide oversight of COTA’s operations.
  • Work effectively with other board members, leadership and the president/CEO.
  • Be an advocate for COTA’s vision, mission, values and COTA’s long-range transit plan.

There are two members appointed by Franklin County, seven members appointed by Columbus, and four members appointed by various suburbs. Members are appointed for three-year terms.

Please click here for a list of 2021 Board Meetings.

Advisory Panel

  • As provided for in the COTA Charter, an Advisory Panel was established to advise COTA management in the development and implementation of public transit in central Ohio.
    • One member appointed by the Franklin County Commissioners.
    • One member appointed by the Mayor or other chief executive officer of each municipal corporation participating in the creation of COTA.
    • At-large members may be appointed by the President/CEO with the consent of the Board of Trustees or as provided in Resolution No. 2011-20 and procedures adopted consistent therewith.
  • Each member appointed to the Advisory Panel shall be a resident and have a familiarity with public transit needs in central Ohio.
  • The Advisory Panel shall meet quarterly and be used by COTA management as a resource in making decisions on public transit and, as appropriate, incorporate advice from the Panel into programs presented to the Board.

Mobility Management Advisory Board

The Mobility Management Advisory Board (MMAB) assists COTA in developing innovative, viable transportation solutions for underserved individuals and businesses. Members are representatives from stakeholder organizations across central Ohio who provide direct services or advocate for underserved individuals and businesses.

Board of Trustees

Trustee Title Appointing Authority Year of Appointment Term Expiration Employment
Craig Treneff Chair Franklin County Commissioners 2020 March 30, 2023 Attorney at Law, Treneff Cozza Law, LLC
Marlon Moore Vice Chair City of Columbus 2019 April 1, 2022 SVP, Chief Diversity & Inclusion Officer, Huntington National Bank
Trudy A. Bartley Trustee City of Columbus 2018 April 1, 2021 Associate Vice President, Local Government & Community Relations, The Ohio State University
Cathy DeRosa Trustee City of Dublin 2018 April 1, 2021 Dublin City Council Member
Jennifer Gallagher Trustee City of Columbus 2020 March 31, 2023 Director, City of Columbus Department of Public Service
Steven D. Gladman Trustee City of Grandview Heights 2019 April 1, 2022 City of Grandview Heights City Council Member
Thomas Grote Trustee City of Gahanna 2018 April 1, 2021 Co-Partner, Grote & Turner
Amy M. Landino Trustee City of Columbus 2019 April 1, 2022 President, Vlog Boss Studios
Timothy Skinner Trustee City of Columbus 2018 April 1, 2021 Business Agent, Sprinklerfitter Local Union 669, District 33
Julie Sloat Trustee City of Columbus 2020 March 31, 2023 Senior Vice President, Treasury & Risk, AEP
Kumi Walker Trustee City of Bexley 2019 April 1, 2022 Chief Business Development and Strategy Officer, Root Insurance
Vacant Trustee Franklin County Commissioners March 30, 2023